The Generalitat recognizes 32 IDIBELL groups as Consolidated or Emerging Research Groups

  • The Agency for the Management of University and Research Grants (AGAUR) has published this week the final resolution of the call for grants to support the activities of research groups from universities, centers and foundations. In this year’s call, 32 IDIBELL groups have been recognized as Consolidated or Emerging Research Groups, of which 19 will receive funding.
NO006 - Grups de Recerca Consolidats - Imatge noti

The objective of the call is to promote the activities of the research groups that reinforce the scientific, economic and social impact of research, as well as enhance its international projection. The call contemplates the recognition of research groups that meet the requirements for each modality, and, in some cases, the granting of funding based on the score obtained.

In the case of the Bellvitge Biomedical Research Institute (IDIBELL), the Agency for the Management of University and Research Grants (AGAUR) of the Generalitat de Catalunya has awarded 29 accreditations for Consolidated Research Group and 3 for Emerging Research Group. In addition, of these, 19 groups will receive funding for a total of 901,694.38 euros.


List of awarded groups:

Name of the group Principal Investigator
Molecular and Genetic Epidemiology in Infections and Cancer Laia Alemany Vilches
Cancer modeling and experimental therapeutics Ramon Alemany Bonastre
Research in health services in cancer Josep Maria Borras Andres
Information and Interventions in Infections and Cancer Laia Bruni Coccoz
Tumor Stromal Interaction and Therapeutic Resistance Oriol Casanovas Casanovas
Bioheart: Cardiovascular Diseases Group Josep Comin Colet
Role of TGF-beta and oxidative stress in human pathologies Maria Isabel Fabregat Romero
Epidemiology, Prevention and Control of Smoking Esteve Fernandez Muñoz
Psychoneurobiology of eating and addictive behaviors Fernando Fernandez Aranda
Regenerative Medicine Maria Carolina Florian
Nurse (GRIN-IDIBELL) Maria Eulàlia Juvé Udina
Hereditary Cancer Conxi Lázaro Garcia
New therapies for the treatment of skin cancer Purificacion Muñoz Moruno
Psycho-oncology and Digital Health Cristian Ochoa Arnedo
Neurometabolic diseases Aurora Pujol Onofre
Biomedical applications of iPS cell technology Angel Raya Chamorro
RNA biology in tumor development Barbara Rivera Polo
Ribo-Colon Ramon Salazar Soler
Genetics, therapy and resistance in epithelial and germ cell tumors Francesc Viñals Canals
Nutrition and Cancer Antonio Agudo Trigueros
Vascular Risk of the Comprehensive Health Consortium Pedro Armario Garcia
Nephrology and Renal Transplantation (Nefrobell) Josep Maria Cruzado Garrit
Palliative Care (GRICOPAL) Jesus Gonzalez Barboteo
Radiobiology and Cancer Ferran Guedea i Edo
Sarcomas Oscar Martinez Tirado
Clinical-Biological Psychiatry and Psychology Jose Manuel Menchon Magriña
Diabetes and Metabolism Eduard Montanya Mias
Cancer prevention Victor Moreno Aguado
Preclinical and experimental research in thoracic tumors Cristina Muñoz Pinedo
Genes, Disease and Therapy Virginia Nunes Martínez
Systemic Diseases and Aging Antoni Riera Mestre
Therapeutic resistance in haematological malignancies Ana Maria Sureda Balari


Thanks to the support of:







The Bellvitge Biomedical Research Institute (IDIBELL) is a biomedical research center created in 2004. It is participated by the Bellvitge University Hospital and the Viladecans Hospital of the Catalan Institute of Health, the Catalan Institute of Oncology, the University of Barcelona and the City Council of L’Hospitalet de Llobregat.

IDIBELL is a member of the Campus of International Excellence of the University of Barcelona HUBc and is part of the CERCA institution of the Generalitat de Catalunya. In 2009 it became one of the first five Spanish research centers accredited as a health research institute by the Carlos III Health Institute. In addition, it is part of the “HR Excellence in Research” program of the European Union and is a member of EATRIS and REGIC. Since 2018, IDIBELL has been an Accredited Center of the AECC Scientific Foundation (FCAECC).

Scroll to Top